Top 10 Series’ I Want To Start But Haven’t Yet

I tend to only really read standalone novels because I buy most of my books second-hand. However, I do love series’ when they’ve been done well as the world building can be much more expansive and I would like to start reading more.

Most of the series’ I’ve read was when I was a child or in my early teens such as Harry Potter, A Series of Unfortunate Events and His Dark Materials. I did read the Hunger Games series a couple of years ago but I think that’s the only one I’ve picked up in a while.

So here is a list, in no particular order of ten book series’ that I would like to dig into:

1.

Image    Image

Image

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R Martin

I’ve only shown the first three in the series because there are about seven and that would take up too much room. I’m sure you all know about this series and it’s t.v show adaptation so I don’t think I need to give you the synopsis.

This series has intrigued me for a while. I love fantasy and the world building is said to be exquisite. The only reason I don’t own them, really, is because there isn’t any room for them on my shelf. One day though. One day…

2.

Image

The Spiderwick Chronicles by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi

This is the Completely Fantasical Edition. It’s a beautiful bind-up with the original illustrations in it and it would look gorgeous on my shelf. Each book in the series is only about one hundred pages so it’s not too time consuming which is a worry a lot of the time when it comes to embarking on a new series.

These books are about twin brothers; Jared and Simon who along with their older sister Mallory discover a Field Guide in the old mansion that they have just moved into. It turns out the guide shows them a parallel Faerie world in which they have many adventures!

3.

Image  Image

Image

Thursday Next by Jasper Fforde

As far as I’m aware this is a series of eight books split into two parts. It’s about a girl called Thursday Next who has to go and save kidnapped fictional characters such as Jane Eyre! It sounds so awesome and is said to be hilarious. Also who doesn’t love books about books?!

4.

Image   Image

Image

Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness

I actually own the first book in this trilogy already but I haven’t read it yet. This may sound silly but it is because I know that I’ll be addicted to it and immediately need to buy the next two when I’m trying to get through some of the many unread books that I already own. Hopefully when I get my bookshelf and have more room I’ll allow myself to get them. For now I’ll just have to stare longingly at it.

5.

Image

Image  Image

Ender Saga by Orson Scott Card

I’ve only shown the first three in the series but I believe that there are at least five. I actually don’t know that much about this series as it has more of a cult following so any information in the comments would be much appreciated.

I’ve been meaning to get into sci-fi novels and this is said to be the pinnacle so it seems like a great place to start!

6.

Image   Image

Image

Gemma Doyle by Libba Bray

I’ve heard good and bad about this series but I love the Victorian era, magic and boarding schools so hopefully I’ll enjoy it. I’ve not read anything by Libba Bray either and I think this was one of her first works so it might be interesting to see her writing develop.

7.

Image   Image

Image

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

I received a bind-up of these for my birthday just before Christmas and I love the movies so I don’t have any excuses why I haven’t picked it up yet. These books are some of the best fantasy to ever exist and I can’t wait to dive in.

8.

Image

Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgomery

I’d not even heard of these before the last year or so but I know that they are beloved to those that grew up reading them. I love children’s books and Anne seems like a great strong, cheeky heroine and I know that I would have adored them if I had grown up with them too.

9.

Image    Image

The Hitchhickers’ Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

I’m contemplating getting a bind-up or these covers from Picador USA that I really like. These books are said to be really funny and they definitely seem like my cup of tea. I’ll have to hunt down the movie with Martin Freeman and Zooey Deschanel when I’m done too.

10.

Image   Image

Fairyland by Catherynne M. Valente

I believe that these are the only two out at the moment.

These books take on elements of Russian fairytales and folklore to produce a beautifully woven story of a girl called September who follows the Green Wind to Fairyland to help out.

I have several of this author’s books on my to-read list as her writing is just stunning.

Any of these series’ on your list? Let me know if you make a post like this or you could just tell me some you want to read in the comments. Also feel free to leave me some recommendations!

P.S. I’ve linked the first picture of each book series to it’s Goodreads page so that you can find out more if you so wish.

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Series’ I Want To Start But Haven’t Yet

  1. disastercouch

    I too have a kind of love/hate relationship with series…I love to luxuriate in a setting and characters that unfold slowly and that you can get really deep into, but I also feel a strong sense of guilt when I am pounding through book after book of a series and thinking “oh but there are so many new characters/authors/stories I could be spending this time on.” then, if I read like 1 or 2 books in a series but don’t finish it right away, there is a whole other form of guilt…

    Reply
  2. prettybooks

    I own Games of Thrones but I know when I pick it up, I’ll be reading it FOREVER, so I haven’t yet! I haven’t posted about it yet, but I’m co-hosting a Chaos Walking read-a-thon from Aug-Sept, so you can join in with that if you wish!

    Reply

Leave a comment