The Lake District

I wasn’t going to post about this but yesterday I discovered a post by The Book Snob (which is a wonderful blog btw) of her travels to the Peak District and it made me want to share my own trip.

This trip took place at the beginning of September with my boyfriend, his Mum, his sister and her boyfriend. It was my first holiday without my family and my first ever walking holiday. I hate sports so I was expecting to really struggle and I did at the start but I absolutely loved it.

Image

This was the view from my room. I actually got to wake up every day for a week and look at this.

Image

Image

The little island at the front had a house on it owned by The National Trust that you could only visit once a year. I would love to be able to see it one day.

Image

Day 1 was a bit of a challenge for me even though it was considered an easy walk because I just wasn’t used to it. At one point there was a really steep hill that I found was exhausting to climb but I got there in the end! It was definitely worth it to get to the top and see all of the gorgeous views. All week long my boyfriend and I kept stopping to take photos. I wish I could include them all here but there’s way too many!

This walk led us to a little pebble beach and back through the woods to Keswick which was the little village we were staying at. The village was mostly made up of rented holiday cottages but it was adorable. It had lots of tiny shops that I loved wandering in including a delicious bakery where I bought some carrot cake, a sweet shop with a chocolate counter, and a toy shop that had a gun shop upstairs. Seriously.

Image

I bought a goldfish, a white chocolate hedgehog, crème brûlée, and a lemon cupcake chocolate. They were all delicious and only about £3.60! You can find them here.

The next day we climbed Haystacks. It’s 597 m or 1,958 ft tall (according to Wikipedia) and as someone who is very scared of heights, it was terrifying! It took us about six hours I think and my legs were dead by the end but it’s one of the best things I’ve ever done. I challenged myself, I didn’t give up even though it was hard and I was scared, and it was totally worth it.

Image

Image

The white line on the right is the path we took. This was only the beginning!

Image

Image

This where we stopped for lunch.

It absolutely poured with rain as we reached the summit which kind of gave us that final push to reach it. Getting to the top was such a great feeling. The way back down wasn’t the most fun I’ve ever had though- my boyfriend almost led us to our deaths and I may have cried- but it was all okay in the end.

Image

Looking glamorous at the summit.

 The day after as a “rest” (according to my boyfriend) we went on a trail through some woods that had a sculpture park. I personally didn’t think the sculptures were that impressive but I enjoyed it anyway.

Image

Image

Image

I jokingly dared him to climb it and he actually did it. He turned into an excited five year old during this trip. It was adorable.

Image

After the trail we hired a little boat and rowed around for a bit. My boyfriend is scared of water but I had him get in it anyway because all week he was making me conquer my fears. Which is quite nice of him I suppose.

Image

Image

These are the woods that inspired William Wordsworth to write “I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud” and you can definitely see why from the beauty of it. We also saw his gravestone but it made me feel sad to be there with all the other tourists who were all loud and obnoxious.

Next door just as many people were trying to squeeze themselves into the teeny tiny world famous Grasmere Gingerbread Shop. It’s so delicious, definitely worth a visit.

The day after that I dragged my boyfriend around the village to explore and behind a park there was a manor house which had bunnies roaming the grounds! You could get quite close to them and it was like the scene in Alice in Wonderland when Alice starts following the White Rabbit. It was awesome.

Image

Image

Image

Image

This is the cottage we stayed at. It was beautiful inside and from the living room window you could see blue-tits visiting the garden opposite.

I loved this trip and cannot wait to go back again one day.

2 thoughts on “The Lake District

    1. shhitsalibrary Post author

      It’s so beautiful. I still can’t get over the fact that I took all of these photos with my iphone! Ooh, also I didn’t get to go but you should visit Hill Top House which is where Beatrix Potter lived.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

