Top Ten Tuesday: Buzzwords and Attention Grabbers

These are the top ten topics and buzzwords that make me want to pick up a book immediately. You can see all of the other posts on this topic at The Broke and the Bookish over on blogspot.

1. WWII

eg. Anne Franks Diary, The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

I studied the Second World War in history a lot and I’m fascinated with that time. The fear, the sense of community and the bravery of people always makes me want to explore it further within fiction.

2. Castles
e.g. I, Capture the Castle, Harry Potter, The Castle

Castles are vast, imposing and grand. I love that they are full of history and I’m always intrigued about what characters will discover in them.

3. Magic
e.g. Seraphina, The Girl who circumnavigated FairyLand, The Magicians

Everyone loves magic. Fact.

4. Time travel

e.g. Ruby Red, A Wrinkle in Time, The Eyre Affair

I’m a massive fan of Doctor Who so I love time travel. The ability to go anywhere and any time is so compelling. It opens up endless possibilities for adventure and I’ll never get sick of it.

5. Child narrators
e.g. The Land of Decorations, Matilda, Charlotte’s Web

Child narrators can help to explore dark subjects without the story becoming too despairing. Their innocence in the way they interpret the things that go on around them can be very poignant and beautiful.

6. Fairy Tales
e.g. The Land of Stories, The Bloody Chamber,The Goose Girl

I love all fairy tales and the darker, sillier and obscure they are the better!

7. Road trip
e.g. Paper Towns, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, Saving June

These are perfect summer reads. It’s like going on a holiday without leaving the house.

8. Boarding School
e.g Gemma Doyle Series, Looking For Alaska, Never Let Me Go

I don’t know why but I’ve always wanted to go to boarding school. I think it might be because I thought that it meant that I’d get to live in a castle. Or that it would secretly turn out to be Hogwarts… Anyway, reading about it is the next best thing.

9. Coming of age
e.g. To Kill a Mockingbird, A Catcher in the Rye, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I love reading about characters who are going through difficult times and reflect upon it until they come out the other side. I found myself gravitating towards them more and more in my late teens and I think that they helped me a lot,

10. Parallel Worlds
e.g. Neverwhere, His Dark Materials, Alice in Wonderland

The contrast between the real world and the “other” one always piques my interest. I love anything secret and magical.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Buzzwords and Attention Grabbers

Leave a Reply

